Recently viewed

Supplementary horse feed - who needs it and what it brings

Roughage, concentrated feed, minerals and supplementary feed - there are various ways to provide your horse with feed and all the necessary nutrients, minerals and vitamins. But when does your horse need additional feed, what is it and what does it actually do? Time for an overview of what feed is necessary in addition to hay and concentrated feed to keep your horse fit, healthy and alert.

Supplementary feed for horses: what is that anyway?

Horses are primarily fed with roughage and concentrates. This fills them up and is the basis for optimal horse nutrition. Roughage is understood to mean dry or moist products rich in raw fibre. This can be pasture grass, silage, hay or straw. Concentrated feed, on the other hand, consists of oats, corn or barley. The latter is particularly important for athletic horses. But with heavy use, increasing age or even an illness, your horse demands more! Then special trace elements or vitamins should also be given. These supplements are called supplemental feed. 

Roughage, concentrated feed, additional feed - do I really need all of that?

Yes, good nutrition consists of several components. The basis for a healthy horse feed is always the roughage, whether hay, straw, silage or grass from the pasture. The digestive tract of our horses is designed in such a way that small amounts of roughage have to be ingested throughout the day. This is the only way to keep the metabolism going. Depending on performance and physical activity, concentrated feed is also an important component of horse feeding. If you also pay attention to the necessary minerals, vitamins and trace elements, your horse will stay healthy and fit. The right combination of individual building blocks forms the golden path to horse nutrition.

Supplementary feed for horses – who needs it?

The feeding of your horse is very individual and can also vary depending on the season and the level of training. The general state of health, special preferences or deficiency symptoms also play a role. When asking whether your horse needs additional feed, you should consider these factors and consult your veterinarian if you are unsure.

form of husbandry

Does your horse stand in the box and is only moved for training or does your horse in the open stable or on the pasture also move during the day? With additional exercise, your horse needs more energy and has an increased calorie requirement.

Sporting activity

An hour of exercise a day or several hours of daily training just before the tournament season? Exercise and training times have a big impact on how much feed your horse needs. Sport horses in training in particular need significantly more energy than leisure horses that are under the saddle for an hour a day.

illness or pregnancy

If your horse is currently ill or pregnant, additional energy is also required. In the case of illnesses in particular, however, you should first discuss with your veterinarian which additional feed is suitable for your horse. Incidentally, pregnant mares always need a little more support, after all, they also have to look after their foals.

Supplementary feed for horses - what's in it?

According to the definition, supplementary feed for horses includes everything except roughage and concentrated feed and provides your four-legged friend with many important ingredients. Depending on the composition, these can have a positive effect on individual organs, fur, hooves or general well-being. Supplementary feed can be mineral feed in its own right or specific oils, drops or powder that you mix into the concentrated feed.

The most important ingredients for your horse are:

  • calcium

  • Vitamins

  • Zink

  • Various sulfur compounds

  • copper

  • Selenium

  • amino acids

Depending on the additional feed, these ingredients are contained in different compositions and dosages.

What types of supplementary feed are there?

You have now learned quite a bit about supplemental feed for horses, but which ones are there and what is the specific purpose of each supplement? Here is an overview!

trace elements

The need for most of the trace elements is already covered by the concentrated feed, but many horses are particularly deficient in selenium. This is mainly due to the soil, which has been becoming increasingly poor in selenium for years. Most of the time, a selenium deficiency is detected during a blood test, and then it's time to feed more! Other trace elements are iron, cobalt, copper or zinc. Zinc, for example, is also a real miracle weapon for infections or skin diseases.

Vitamins

In general, there are fat-soluble and water-soluble vitamins. Often only the fat-soluble ones such as vitamin K, E or A have to be supplied. But there is not always a deficiency here. Some horses meet their needs through normal feed. Water-soluble vitamins, on the other hand, are produced by the horse's organism with a normal diet and in a generally good condition all by itself, but often quickly excrete them again when stressed - that's why you should also feed them if necessary. Don't worry - too much will be excreted automatically. A blood test at the vet provides clarity!

bulk elements / minerals

Bulk elements are essential for horses to survive! They make up around 70% of the mineral content. A well-known bulk element is magnesium. It is often given to nervous, restless horses because it is responsible for the regulation of the nerves. Potassium, sulphur, calcium and sodium are also such bulk elements. Many horses receive a corresponding salt lick to take it in.

Special supplementary feed for your horse's organs

Some supplementary feeds optimize the horse's organ function. Selenium and biotin play an important role in hoof health. For horses with a sensitive gastrointestinal tract, feeding flaxseed makes sense. But be careful: Oversupply can also have an impact. Too much calcium damages your horse's kidneys.

Supplementary feed – who needs what?

Supplementary feed contains many important nutrients and vitamins. For some horses, such additional nutrients are an absolute must. But you can also support your horse in many other situations. As always, if in doubt, talk to your uncle or aunt doctor. Because: an overdose of certain nutrients is usually just as harmful as an undersupply and can even lead to poisoning in the worst case.

minerals for everyone

An adequate supply of minerals and salts is important for health and performance - that applies to everyone, whether it's a leisure horse or a professional tournament horse. There are various mineral feeds or the famous salt lick stone. Be careful with foals, who get stomach problems and diarrhea from too much salt.

winter and shedding

Your horse also needs a little more support during the cold season and when changing its coat. The trace element zinc in particular promotes the change of coat and supports the immune system. This keeps your horse healthy in winter and well-armed for infections.

Competition horses - be careful with waiting periods

Dressage competitions, show jumping competitions or the racetrack - when our four-legged friends give their all at tournaments, they need extra power and special support. With such a sporting load, not only the concentrated feed of your horse has to be adjusted, but also the additional feed.

Owners of competition horses should familiarize themselves with the waiting period before competitions and the ingredients of the additional feed. Special nutrients, herbs or essential oils are considered doping. Other additives are really good for your horse. So read carefully!

riding horse

If you are regularly active on the field, in the hall or in the field, your horse needs a lot of energy. Whether you have to resort to additional feed depends on how high your horse's energy expenditure is. Posture and physical activity are also important. However, the right supply of minerals must be.

grazing horses

If your horse has access to pasture for a few hours a day or permanently, you should adjust the roughage accordingly. To cover your horse's mineral and salt balance, you can hang up a salt lick in the pasture. Be sure to discuss this with the other horse owners! Such a salt lick is not optimal for foals in particular - if they also come to the pasture, you should choose a different dosage form.

Horses with joint problems

With arthrosis or other joint problems, your horse often also needs additional feed, which primarily supports joints and cartilage. If you have joint problems, it is best to talk to your veterinarian about which supplementary feed is suitable and whether MSM, glucosamine, chondroitin, hyaluronic acid or devil's claw are valuable additives here.

pregnancy

If a small foal is growing up in your mare, the mother-to-be needs an extra portion of vitamins and nutrients. In order for both the mare and the growing foal to remain healthy and alert, the entire feed must also be adjusted. Shortly before birth, the need for energy and protein increases and you should pay particular attention to the feeding of trace elements in a pregnant mare.

muscle building

Whether after an accident, illness or in training - if your horse is to build up more muscles, additional feed is a sensible and necessary supplement to restore performance. Above all, proteins and various carbohydrates are important energy suppliers that support muscle building. You can find out what to look out for when building muscle here.

Wrong Beliefs: It all comes down to the RIGHT additions

Unfortunately, too many horse owners just choose their supplementary feed randomly. But that can have serious consequences. We will tell you three beliefs that you should say goodbye to directly.

A lot helps a lot!

Attention overdose: If too many vitamins or trace elements are administered, this can permanently damage the liver, kidneys or other organs of your horse. Therefore, always pay attention to the dosage recommendation and calculate the correct amount based on the horse's body weight.

It used to be possible without additional feed!

Some owners believe that horse supplements are not needed at all. After all, horses used to get by without them. That's not quite right! Because the life expectancy of horses was even lower until a few decades ago. In addition, home remedies for diseases were administered hundreds of years ago.

I know my horse best!

Yes, that's right. However, regular vet visits are important. You don't see a lack of supply in your horse at the beginning. And by the time you see them, it's actually already too late. If you want a happy and healthy horse, you have to take him to the doctor regularly.

Does your horse need additional feed?

The decision as to whether your horse needs supplementary feed depends on many different factors - for example training periods, seasons and your horse's feed. However, the addition of minerals and salts is recommended for all horses. If you are unsure about the other supplementary feed substances, it is best to speak to your veterinarian about which nutrients your horse needs. This applies above all to horses with illnesses or other special needs, such as pregnant mares or tournament professionals.

BewegungsfreudeBewegungsfreude
Im Angebot

Bewegungsfreude

€23,08 €28,85
€28,85 / kg
Gelenk LiquidGelenk Liquid
Im Angebot

Gelenk Liquid

€20,68 €25,85
€20,68 / l
Nervenstärke Relax PulverNervenstärke Relax Pulver
Im Angebot

Nervenstärke Relax Pulver

€23,08 €28,85
€30,77 / kg
Muskelpower PulverMuskelpower Pulver
Im Angebot

Muskelpower Pulver

€22,28 €27,85
€34,28 / kg
Bronchial LiquidBronchial Liquid
Im Angebot

Bronchial Liquid

€17,48 €21,85
€17,48 / l
Vitamin E / Selen & LysinVitamin E / Selen & Lysin
Im Angebot

Vitamin E / Selen & Lysin

€19,08 €23,85
€25,44 / kg
Zink PelletsZink Pellets
Im Angebot

Zink Pellets

€12,68 €15,85
€18,11 / kg
Hair Care ProHair Care Pro
Im Angebot

Hair Care Pro

€10,28 €12,85
€20,56 / l
Relax LiquidRelax Liquid
Im Angebot

Relax Liquid

€19,08 €23,85
€19,08 / l
Leber-Nieren LiquidLeber-Nieren Liquid
Im Angebot

Leber-Nieren Liquid

€18,28 €22,85
€18,28 / l
Elektrolyte LiquidElektrolyte Liquid
Im Angebot

Elektrolyte Liquid

€17,48 €21,85
€17,48 / l
Biotin LiquidBiotin Liquid
Im Angebot

Biotin Liquid

€21,48 €26,85
€21,48 / l
Insekten StoppInsekten Stopp
Im Angebot

Insekten Stopp

€16,68 €20,85
€22,24 / l
Magen-Darm LiquidMagen-Darm Liquid
Im Angebot

Magen-Darm Liquid

€17,48 €21,85
€17,48 / l
Tonerde PasteTonerde Paste
Im Angebot

Tonerde Paste

€19,08 €23,85
€9,54 / kg
Hufsalbe für PferdeHufsalbe Exklusiv
Im Angebot

Hufsalbe Exklusiv

€11,08 €13,85
€22,16 / l

Zuletzt angeschaut

Zusatzfutter Pferd – wer´s braucht und was es bringt

Raufutter, Kraftfutter, Mineralien und Zusatzfutter – es gibt verschiedene Möglichkeiten, Dein Pferd mit Futter und allen nötigen Nährstoffen, Mineralstoffen und Vitaminen zu versorgen. Doch wann benötigt Dein Pferd Zusatzfutter, was ist das überhaupt und was bringt das eigentlich? Zeit für einen Überblick, welches Futter neben Heu und Kraftfutter notwendig ist, damit dein Pferd fit, gesund und munter bleibt.

Zusatzfutter für Pferde: Was ist das überhaupt?

Pferde werden primär mit Rau- und Kraftfutter ernährt. Das macht sie satt und ist die Grundlage für die optimale Pferdeernährung. Unter Raufutter versteht man trockene oder feuchte, rohfaserreiche Produkte. Das kann Weidegras, Silage, Heu oder Stroh sein. Kraftfutter hingegen besteht aus Hafer, Mais oder Gerste. Letzteres ist besonders für sportliche Pferde wichtig. Doch bei starker Beanspruchung, steigendem Alter oder gar einer Krankheit verlangt Dein Pferd mehr! Dann sollten spezielle Spurenelemente oder Vitamine zusätzlich gegeben werden. Diese ergänzenden Mittel nennt man Zusatzfutter. 

Raufutter, Kraftfutter, Zusatzfutter – brauch ich das wirklich alles?

Ja, eine gute Ernährung besteht aus mehreren Komponenten. Die Basis für eine gesunde Pferde-Fütterung bildet stets das Raufutter, egal ob Heu, Stroh, Silage oder Gras von der Weide. Der Verdauungstrakt unserer Pferde ist so ausgelegt, dass über den Tag verteilt kleine Mengen Raufutter aufgenommen werden müssen. Nur so bleibt der Stoffwechsel in Schwung. Je nach Leistung und sportlicher Betätigung ist Kraftfutter ebenfalls ein wichtiger Baustein für die Pferde-Fütterung. Achtest Du außerdem auch auf notwendige Mineralien, Vitamine und Spurenelemente, bleibt Dein Pferd gesund und fit. Die richtige Kombination einzelner Bausteine bildet den goldenen Weg für die Pferdeernährung.

Zusatzfutter für Pferde – wer braucht´s?

Die Fütterung Deines Pferdes ist sehr individuell und kann auch je nach Jahreszeit und Trainingszustand variieren. Auch der allgemeine Gesundheitszustand, spezielle Vorlieben oder Mangelerscheinungen spielen eine Rolle. Bei der Frage, ob Dein Pferd Zusatzfutter benötigt, solltest Du diese Faktoren beachten und bei Unsicherheit Rücksprache mit dem Tierarzt halten.

Haltungsform

Steht Dein Pferd in der Box und wird nur für das Training bewegt oder hat Dein Pferd im Offenstall oder auf der Weide auch tagsüber Bewegung? Durch zusätzliche Bewegung benötigt Dein Pferd mehr Energie und hat einen erhöhten Kalorienbedarf.

Sportliche Betätigung

Eine Stunde Bewegung am Tag oder mehrere Stunden tägliches Training kurz vor der Turniersaison? Bewegung und Trainingszeiten haben großen Einfluss darauf, wie viel Futter Dein Pferd benötigt. Gerade Sportpferde im Training benötigen deutlich mehr Energie als Freizeitpferde, die eine Stunde am Tag unterm Sattel sind.

Krankheit oder Trächtigkeit

Ist Dein Pferd aktuell krank oder trächtig, ist ebenfalls zusätzliche Energie notwendig. Gerade bei Krankheiten solltest Du dich jedoch zuvor mit Deinem Tierarzt austauschen, welches Zusatzfutter für Dein Pferd passend ist. Trächtige Stuten benötigen übrigens immer etwas mehr Unterstützung, schließlich müssen diese auch noch ihr Fohlen mitversorgen.

Zusatzfutter für Pferde – was ist drin?

Laut Definition umfasst Zusatzfutter für Pferde alles außer Rau- und Kraftfutter und versorgt Deinen Vierbeiner mit vielen wichtigen Inhaltsstoffen. Je nach Zusammensetzung können sich diese positiv auf einzelne Organe, Fell, Hufe oder das allgemeine Wohlbefinden auswirken. So kann Zusatzfutter eigenständiges Mineralfutter sein oder auch bestimmte Öle, Tropfen oder Pulver meinen, die Du in das Kraftfutter mischst.

Die wichtigsten Inhaltsstoffe für Dein Pferd sind hierbei:

  • Kalzium

  • Vitamine

  • Zink

  • Verschiedene Schwefelverbindungen

  • Kupfer

  • Selen

  • Aminosäuren

Je nach Zusatzfutter sind diese Inhaltsstoffe in unterschiedlichen Zusammensetzungen und Dosierungen enthalten.

Welche Zusatzfutterarten gibt es überhaupt?

Jetzt hast Du schon eine ganze Menge über Zusatzfutter für Pferde gelernt, aber welche gibt es da eigentlich genau und welchen konkreten Zweck haben die jeweiligen Zusätze. Hier folgt ein Überblick!

Spurenelemente

Der Bedarf der meisten Spurenelement wird bereits über das Kraftfutter abgedeckt, doch insbesondere bei Selen zeigen viele Pferde einen Mangel. Das liegt vor allem an an den Böden, die seit Jahren immer selenärmer werden. Meistens wird ein Selenmangel bei einer Blutuntersuchung festgestellt und dann heißt es: Zusätzlich füttern! Weitere Spurenelemente sind Eisen, Kobalt, Kupfer oder Zink. Zink ist beispielweise auch eine echte Wunderwaffe bei Infekten oder Hauterkrankungen.

Vitamine

Ganz allgemein gibt es fett- und wasserlösliche Vitamine. Zugeführt werden müssen oft nur die fettlöslichen wie Vitamin K, E oder A. Doch nicht immer besteht hier ein Mangel. Einige Pferde decken ihren Bedarf über das normale Futter. Wasserlösliche Vitamine hingegen produziert der Pferde-Organismus bei normaler Ernährung und in allgemein gutem Zustand ganz von allein, scheidet diese aber oft auch bei Beanspruchung schnell wieder aus - deswegen sollte man auch hier bei Bedarf zufüttern. Keine Sorge - zu viel wird automatisch ausgeschieden. Ein Blutbild beim Tierarzt verschafft Klarheit!

Mengenelemente / Mineralstoffe

Mengenelemente sind für Pferde überlebensnotwendig! Sie machen rund 70% des Mineralstoffgehalts aus. Ein sehr bekanntes Mengenelement ist Magnesium. Es wird gerade nervösen, unruhigen Pferden häufig zugeführt, da es für die Regulation der Nerven mitverantwortlich ist. Auch Kalium, Schwefel, Kalzium und Natrium sind solche Mengenelemente. Viele Pferde erhalten einen entsprechenden Leckstein zur Aufnahme.

Spezielles Zusatzfutter für Organe Deines Pferdes

Einige Zusatzfutter optimieren die Organfunktion beim Pferd. So spielen Selen und Biotin eine wichtige Rolle bei der Huf-Gesundheit. Bei Pferden mit empfindlichem Magen-Darm-Trakt macht eine Fütterung von Leinsamen Sinn. Aber Achtung: Auch eine Überversorgung kann Auswirkungen haben. So schädigt zu viel Calcium etwa die Nieren Deines Pferdes.

Zusatzfutter – wer benötigt was?

Zusatzfutter enthält viele wichtige Nährstoffe und Vitamine. Für einige Pferde sind solche zusätzlichen Nährstoffe ein absolutes Muss. Aber auch in vielen anderen Situationen kannst Du Dein Pferd so unterstützen. Wie immer gilt: Im Zweifelsfall mit Onkel oder Tante Doktor sprechen. Denn: eine Überdosierung von bestimmten Nährstoffen ist meistens genauso schädlich wie eine Unterversorgung und kann im schlimmsten Fall sogar zu Vergiftungen führen.

Mineralien für alle

Eine ausreichende Versorgung mit Mineralien und Salzen ist wichtig für Gesundheit und Leistung – das gilt für alle, egal ob Freizeitpferd oder Turnier-Profi. Es gibt verschiedene Mineralfutter oder auch den berühmten Salzleckstein. Vorsicht bei Fohlen, die bekommen von zu viel Salz schnell Magenprobleme und Durchfall.

Winter und Fellwechsel

In der kalten Jahreszeit und im Fellwechsel benötigt Dein Pferd ebenfalls etwas mehr Unterstützung. Gerade das Spurenelement Zink fördert den Fellwechsel und unterstützt das Immunsystem. So bleibt Dein Pferd auch im Winter gesund und ist gut für Infekte gewappnet.

Turnierpferde – Vorsicht bei Karenzzeiten

Dressurprüfung, Springwettkampf oder Rennbahn – wenn unsere Vierbeiner auf Turnieren alles geben, benötigen sie extra viel Power und auch besondere Unterstützung. Bei einer solchen sportlichen Belastung muss nicht nur das Kraftfutter Deines Pferdes angepasst werden, sondern auch das Zusatzfutter.

Besitzer von Turnierpferden sollten sich gut mit der Karenzzeit vor Turnieren und den Inhaltsstoffen des Zusatzfutters vertraut machen. Spezielle Nährstoffe, Kräuter oder ätherische Öle werden als Doping angesehen. Andere Zusätze sind wiederum richtig gut für Dein Pferd. Lies Dich also genau ein!

Reitpferd

Seid ihr regelmäßig auf dem Platz, der Halle oder im Gelände aktiv, benötigt Dein Pferd viel Energie. Ob Du hierbei auf Zusatzfutter zurückgreifen musst, hängt davon ab, wie hoch der Energieaufwand Deines Pferdes ist. Ebenso sind Haltungsform und sportliche Belastung ausschlaggebend. Die richtige Versorgung mit Mineralien muss jedoch sein.

Weidepferde

Hat Dein Pferd für einige Stunden am Tag oder dauerhaft Zugang zur Weide, solltest Du das Raufutter entsprechend anpassen. Um den Mineralien- und Salzhaushalt Deines Pferdes zu decken, kannst Du einen Salzleckstein an der Weide aufhängen. Sprich dies aber auf jeden Fall mit den anderen Pferdebesitzern ab! Gerade für Fohlen ist so ein Leckstein nicht optimal – kommen auch sie auf die Weide, solltest du eine andere Darreichungsform wählen.

Pferde mit Gelenkproblemen

Bei Arthrose oder anderen Gelenkproblemen benötigt Dein Pferd oft ebenfalls Zusatzfutter, welches vor allem Gelenke und Knorpel unterstützt. Sprich bei Gelenkproblemen am besten mit Deinem Tierarzt, welches Ergänzungsfutter sich eignet und ob MSM, Glucosamin, Chondroitin, Hyaluron oder Teufelskralle hier wertvolle Zusätze sind.

Trächtigkeit

Wächst in Deiner Stute gerade ein kleines Fohlen heran, benötigt die werdende Mama eine Extraportion Vitamine und Nährstoffe. Damit sowohl Stute als auch das heranwachsende Fohlen gesund und munter bleiben, muss auch das gesamte Futter angepasst werden. Kurz vor der Geburt steigt der Bedarf an Energie und Eiweiß an und insbesondere auf die Fütterung von Spurenelementen solltest Du bei einer trächtigen Stute ein Auge haben.

Muskelaufbau

Ob nach Unfall, Krankheit oder im Training – soll Dein Pferd mehr Muskeln aufbauen, ist Zusatzfutter eine sinnvolle und notwendige Ergänzung zur Wiederherstellung der Leistungsfähigkeit. Hier sind vor allem Proteine und verschiedene Kohlenhydrate wichtige Energielieferanten, die beim Aufbau der Muskulatur unterstützen. Worauf Du beim Muskelaufbau achten musst, findest Du hier.

Falsche Glaubenssätze: Auf die RICHTIGEN Zusätze kommt es an

Leider wählen zu viele Pferdehalter ihr Zusatzfutter einfach ins Blaue hinein. Doch das kann schwere Folgen haben. Wir verraten Dir drei Glaubenssätze, von denen Du Dich am besten direkt verabschiedest.

Viel hilft viel!

Achtung Überdosierung: Werden zu viele Vitamine oder Spurenelemente verabreicht, kann das die Leber, Niere oder andere Organe Deines Pferdes nachhaltig schädigen. Achte daher immer auf die Dosierungsempfehlung und berechne die korrekte Menge auf Basis des Körpergewichts des Pferdes.

Früher ging es auch ohne Zusatzfutter!

Einige Halter sind der Ansicht, dass Ergänzungsfuttermittel für Pferde überhaupt nicht benötigt werden. Schließlich sind Pferde „früher“ auch ohne ausgekommen. Das stimmt so nicht ganz! Denn auch die Lebenserwartung von Pferden war bis vor einigen Jahrzehnten noch geringer. Außerdem wurden Hausmittel bei Krankheiten bereits vor Hunderten von Jahren verabreicht.

Ich kenne mein Pferd am besten!

Ja, das stimmt. Und doch ist ein regelmäßiger Tierarztbesuch wichtig. Mangelversorgung sieht man deinem Pferd zu Beginn nicht an. Und wenn man sie sieht, ist es eigentlich schon zu spät. Wer ein glückliches und gesundes Pferd will, muss auch regelmäßig zum Arzt mit ihm.

Braucht Dein Pferd Zusatzfutter?

Die Entscheidung, ob Dein Pferd Zusatzfutter benötigt, hängt von vielen verschiedenen Faktoren ab – beispielsweise von Trainingszeiträumen, Jahreszeiten und Deinem Pferdefutter. Die Zugabe von Mineralien und Salzen ist jedoch für alle Pferde zu empfehlen. Falls Du Dir bei den anderen Zusatzfutter-Stoffen unsicher bist, sprich am besten mit Deinem Tierarzt, welche Nährstoffe Dein Pferd benötigt. Das gilt vor allem für Pferde mit Krankheiten oder anderen besonderen Bedürfnissen, wie trächtige Stuten oder Turnier-Profis.